2024 Schedule  ⚾

Get Social

Major League Baseball Partner League

stormers News

Peeples Named Manager of the Year

The Atlantic League has honored Lancaster Barnstormers skipper Ross Peeples as its Manager of the Year, it was announced today by league president Rick White.

Peeples captured the award in his first year at the helm after pitching 10 seasons for the Barnstormers and then serving two seasons as the bench coach and baseball operations manager.

Under Peeples’ leadership, the Barnstormers tied for the best record in the league at 76-64, despite 11 player contracts being purchased by Major League organizations. That included four in a 72-hour span at the close of the first half.  Lancaster was in a race for all but the final day of the season.

“In his first year as manager, Ross did a superb job,” said White.  “His club lost 11 players to transfers throughout the season, yet he still led his squad to a tie for the league’s best season-long record. The ‘Stormers came within an eyelash of winning the Freedom Division title in both halves of the season, a testimony to Ross’ leadership and consistency.”

Lancaster led the league in runs scored with 710 and set a franchise record with 187 steals as a team.  The Barnstormers never lost more than four consecutive games during the season.

In addition, the 2017 edition of the Barnstormers won nine games when they trailed entering the final inning of regulation, more than doubling the previous franchise mark, which stood at four.

“Ross has a great baseball mind,” said partner Bob Zuckerman.  “Plus, he is a true professional with a great work ethic.  He was able to keep his team motivated throughout the entire 140-game season.  This is a well-deserved recognition.  We are very proud of him.”

“Just as much of the credit for this goes to the coaching staff, players and front office,” said Peeples.  “I have been blessed just to be part of a great organization.”

In other awards announced by the league, York’s Alfonzo Harris was selected as Player of the Year; Southern Maryland’s Gaby Hernandez was named Pitcher of the Year; and New Britain’s Michael Crouse was chosen as the Rawlings Defensive Player of the Year.